What Country used to be Called Burma

Which country was formerly called Burma?

" I use Burma a lot because I'm used to using it. They can be informally called'Pitcairn Islands'. Isn' t it fair to call a country by the wrong name because some people think that the name Burma is more common? Frequently used by whom? The two names have been used in tandem for centuries.

There are 10 different nations that have modified their name.

Subsequent lands do not always have the name by which they are known. There are many new names in different places, states, municipalities and counties around the globe. Names are often changed for either politic or nationalist purposes, e.g. to remove evidence of settlement or to reflect the ideology of the ruling state.

It is also possible for a country or state to alter its name for just thoughtful purposes, especially in honour of an important figure or an important occasion in the country. You can also rename a country to enhance its reputation and delete an annoying incident or remember. There are ten different nations that have successfully christened themselves.

From a historical point of view, Iran has been called Persia on the basis of ancient Greeks. By 1935, the regime ordered the states with which it had embarked on political diplomacy to be called Iran, not Persia. It is said that the proposal to rename the name was inspired by the German Embassy of Iran, which was also affected by the Nazis.

Committed states and the name "Iran" appeared in formal documentation. Despite resistance from some sides to the name shift, the move to Persia and Iran brought about an interchangeable perceptions of the population. Today the country is called Iran at will. The name Cambodia has been renamed several avenues, especially when the new governing coalition wanted to remove the tracks of the before.

The country was changed to the Kingdom of Cambodia between 1953 and 1970. Between 1970 and 1975 it was called the Khmer Republic. It was called Democratic Cambodia under Cambodian Communism from 1975 to 1979. The country was appointed Cambodia under the UN transitional agency from 1989 to 1993.

Cambodia was re-named the Kingdom of Cambodia after the re-establishment of the Empire in 1993. "The name Cambodia is a false statement from Cambodia in the West. There are two English versions of Myanmar: Myanmar and Burma. Bangladesh's name was moved from "Burma" to "Myanmar" and eventually to the controversial "Republic of the Union of Myanmar".

It was renamed in 1989 by the army jungle, one year after several men were murdered to oppress a riot. It has been recognised by several nations such as France, Japan and the United Nations. But the US and the UK did not recognise the non-elected army that renamed it.

It was re-named the Hashemite Kingdom of Transjordan in May 1946 after the Treaty of London was ratified. 1949 the name was again altered to "The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan". "Jordan is called the Hashemite kingdom because it was governed by the Hashemite family.

Hashemian is used today in Jordan to relate to the King's household, while Jordan is a name that relates to the Jordan where Jesus was baptised. When the Abyssinian monarchy was founded in 1270, the whole country was named "Abyssinia". In World War II, Abyssinia was transformed into Ethiopia by Hailesilase, the Xth King of Ethiopia.

A number of academics have claimed that Ethiopia has always had the same name (Ethiopia) since the fourth millennium and that the name Abyssinia was only made popular by the Arabs and that Ethiopia is larger than Abyssinia in geographical terms. Bechuanaland' was adopted by the British on 31 March 1885 when the country became one of their territory.

The name Botswana comes from "Tswana", the country's biggest ethnical group, which is also known as Bechuana in older variants. In the course of the years Sri Lanka has become known under several different name. Between 1815 and 1948 Sri Lanka was known as Ceylon under Britain's reign. CĂ©ylon is a translation of Ceilao, the name of the country among the Portuguese who were the first colonizers.

Sri Lanka's name was established at the beginning of the twentieth-century as an independent country. The Marxist Lanka Sama Samaja Party used it, while Sri was established by the Sri Lanka Freedom Party. In 1972 it formally adopted the name "The Republic of Sri Lanka" and in 1978 it was renamed "Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka".

Congo was officially known under various different denominations, such as Congo Free State, Belgium Congo and Congo-Leopoldville. It gained independency in 1960 under the name "Republic of the Congo", after the river Congo. Between 1965 and 1971 the country was rebranded the "Democratic Republic of Congo" and in 1971 President Mobutu Sese Seko changed its name to "Republic of Zaire".

" Though the Sovereign National Congress decided to rename the country "Democratic Republic of Congo" in 1992, the name was changed in 1977 after the downfall of Mobutu. The Dahomey was a mighty pre-colonial empire founded in West Africa in what is now the Republic of Benin.

It also included present-day Togo and some parts of southwest Nigeria. Dahomey Realm was renowned for its skilful women soldiers who acted as king's bodyguard. Dahomey was renamed the Beninese Republic fifteen years after the country gained its autonomy in 1975 under the command of Mathieu Kerekou.

Karekou's new name was compared to Marxist-Leninist ideas he had.

Mehr zum Thema