Township Myanmar

Municipality of Myanmar

The Myanmar National Community Driven Development Project : The government selects the first three townships after consultation. The Myanmar National Community Driven Development Project : After consultation, the federal administration chooses the first three cities

The Myanmar government is committed to reaching and listening to the communities and has met with large groups of interest groups to choose the first three communities to join the National Community Driven Development Project. These are Kanpetlet in Chin State, Namhsan (Pa Laung Self-Administered Zone) in Shan State and Kyunsu in Tanintharyi Region.

It will help all parts of the villages in each township and will benefit some 245,000 local residents in their first year of use. In the future, local authority consultation will take place in each of the three communities, where residents will have the opportunity to select, design, construct, monitor and take responsibility for small scale infrastructural improvement initiatives.

Key objectives of the work are to provide better accessibility to and use of essential infrastructures and ecosystem support through an inclusive grassroots based environment for disadvantaged peasant villages. In Myanmar, however, there is a lack of credible information on urban low-income areas of urban low-income deprivation, making it hard to prioritise it. On a proposal from Kyrgyzstan' grassroots civic community, the Myanmar government held consultation in February 2013 to review on-site circumstances and choose the first three cities where the scheme will be implemented.

Consultative sessions were conducted in Taunggyi (Shan State; 14 February), Hakha (Chin State; 26 February) and Dawei (Tanintharyi Oblast; 27 February). About 250 persons took part in Taunggyi and Dawei, who represented the regional and state governments and parliaments, ethnical groups, community-based organisations, civic groups, as well as regional and multinational non-governmental organisations and developing countries. There were three stages in the selection procedure for the municipalities taking part.

First of all, the government invites civic groups, non-governmental organisations and developing countries to take part in the conference through large networking channels. Interested parties were given information about the projects and the choice procedure as well as a chart with the available economical and soft facts for all citieships in Chin State and Tanintharyi region and all self-governing areas in Shan State before the workshop.

Secondly, consultation was organised by the Ministry of Rural Affairs in co-operation with the region/state governments. In the mornings of each of the workshops, the aim was to familiarise the attendees with the projects and to gather input. After a few brief lectures, there followed animated discussion on a number of issues, ranging from the general economic and social developments in the region/country to concrete aspects of shaping projects.

Attendees at the afternoons meeting were divided into smaller groups, each with different interest groups, to debate available information and exchange first-hand information on the level of urban sprawl in the cities - for example on nutritional safety, transport and basic needs. Then each group classified three cities according to the eligibility criterion, focusing mainly on the lack of outside financing, the lack of support for the goals of the local authority and the lack of support for the poor.

Thirdly, the Prime Minister examined the three prioritised cities per region/state and presented the suggested citieship to the Ministry of National Planning and Economic Development and the Ministry of Border Affairs for approval. The consultations, conducted by the Ministry of Rural Development, have proved efficient in the selection of the impoverished communities that will now be participating in the scheme.

They underlined the importance of hearing stakeholders' opinions on the different aspects of farming and the different aspects of farming and the importance of fully publicizing the invitations to participate in the workshop, allowing enough space for full and group discussion, ensuring strong cooperation between the trade unions and regional/national administrations to organise the meeting and creating a supportive environment for an open dialog with different interest groups.

This procedure will be improved and used in 2014 for the choice of five further cities. Finally, the projects will be implemented in 15 cities - one in each of the 14 areas and states of the land and on the EU side over a period of six years.

Mehr zum Thema