Pyin Oo Lwin Flower CityOo Lwin Pyin Flower City
This city was initially called "Maymyo" or "May Town", after Colonel James May, a Bengali army commander of the Fifth Bengali Infantry, who was based there in 1886. Maymyo became the summers capitol during the UK collective government after the railroad was built from Mandaly, a position until the end of the UK reign in 1948.
There are five Pyin Oo Lwin and they are all known: There are Pyin Oo Lwin, Maymyo, Taung Lay Khar ('Hillside Stairs'), Taung Sa Kan ('Hill Station') and Pan Myo Taw ('City of Flowers'). After the British left, the name was altered. Visiting Pyin Oo Lwin will take you back several centuries.
National Kandawgyi Gardens, Pyin Oo Lwin's biggest touristic destination, was founded in 1915 by Alex Roger, a UK based Botanic artist. The design is modelled on the Kew Gardens of England. Kew Gardens of England was the model for the initial location of 30 acre. During 2000 the gardens were converted into a recreational park and re-named "Kandawgyi National Gardens", with a combined 240 acre, 170 of which are 170 acre of agricultural and 70 acre of sea.
There is a great diversity of colourful flowers in the garden, among them various orchid varieties, dalias, rose orchards, many tropical fruit and shaded wood. Nan Myint, a large watchtower, offers an amazing 360° view of the area.
It preserves some of the most typical and charming rural homes of the nineteenth cent. Kolonial homes were converted into school, administration building or hotel. Its best-known properties are the Candacraig Hotel, Governor's House, Nan Myaing Hotel (Craddock Court), Gandamar Myaing Hotel (The Croxtan) and All Saints Kirche, an English Curch.
Pwe Kauk Falls (also known as Hampshire Falls) are a range of broad, brief falls where many individuals often go swimming or playing.